Herb Gardens and Living With Your Sibling

4b0a8b43-6d50-4536-bbd1-b08c95588afe

As spring has sprung, my brother has been slaying the cooking game.

  • Roasted whole trout stuffed with butter, dill, heirloom cherry tomatoes, rosemary lemon slices and red onion slivers.
  • Red wine pasta with Polska kielbasa, spicy sausage bits, two kinds of olives, onion, tomato and basil.
  • Salmon fried rice cooked in avocado oil with yellow onion and chives.
  • Root vegetable hash with butternut squash, potato, shaved brussel sprouts sage and fresh pepper.

He cooks healthy, delicious, inspiring food and we rarely talk at the dinner table anymore.

IMG_8367 (1)

We decided sometime near the end of February that an herb garden would be a fantastic companion for our already established succulent biome (because a house is not a home without greenery especially in the winter). They fit perfectly together in our kitchen window, like a little green family, just the sweetest.

Ross and I chose our essentials:

  • Tier 1
    • Rosemary
    • Thai basil
    • Cilantro
    • Sage
    • Thyme
  • Tier 2
    • French parsley
    • Curly parsley
    • Oregano
    • Chives
    • And the all important star of the show: Dill

Ross puts dill in everything, if you told me he was making dill ice-cream, I’d tell you he’s done it before. It’s fascinating what he does with food. It’s not even his calling, it’s just something he’s good at. Like tennis, or running, or acting, or singing or movement, or understanding people, Ross’ cooking skills are damn impressive.

IMG_0027

Having a live-in chef is great, but living with family again has been so healing. I didn’t know what to think when we first decided to move in together, one mild evening at 10pm when Ross called needing a place to stay. At the time I was living in a studio apartment in Bellevue with my cat Mieli and no doors, but agreeing to be roommates just made sense in the moment.

10702102_10205235712195104_7732739245949479003_n

I was a bit nervous that my cat would abandon me as so many have before in favor of Ross. She proved too fat and ill tempered to warrant his interest however, so the three of us lived together, me working 9-5 and Ross coming home after his evening shift at 12am. When I had a gaggle of girls over for my birthday party he used our joke of a kitchen to make salmon and dill appetizers and warm dates with goat cheese and honey.

In March we moved into a big green house in Ravenna, and Mieli became an indoor/ outdoor cat. With a full kitchen of space Ross had the space, (and the cookware) to create masterpieces.

7f0ac80b-ed4f-4aa1-baa5-8aecb452d298

I am not saying that living with your sibling is for everyone, because I know too many siblings who barely make it through the holidays without strangling one another. I suppose that we are very lucky actually, that we can stand one another, and even enjoy each other’s company. He is my favorite person in the world, and he’s been there for me through a lot.

I think maybe it’s because I was such a terror to him when we were kids, that now I appreciate so much that he never hit me back, (though he did sit on me in retaliation when he was big enough). Or maybe it has something to do with his ability to wait for me to get home from work to watch the new episode of GOT, there’s a LOT of love there.

The kitchen is a place for together time, and without Ross in it, something always seems to be missing. He is like salt, you shouldn’t leave it out. When he’s gone, I occasionally put oil into pans and create nutrition myself. I recently made this plate of beige:

20160427_210608_HDR

It tasted how it looks.

Leave a Reply

