Calm on the Surface

DSC_2673

I’m on a boat floating silently into a bay at night in Jamaica. We anchor and slip into the still water, with all of our clothes on. We are waiting for something, we don’t know what. As I am bobbing there I feel strange shapes swimming around my legs and slowly, I begin to identify the dimly glowing outlines of many different animals that should not be underwater. A huge ghost-like bear is outlined, and a kitten.

373492_orig

There is a massive sea turtle there too, the only thing that would make sense to be swimming with us, If it was not the size of a house that is. In complete unison all of the animals begin to glow bright yellow and swim quickly along the shore, the momentum pushes me along with them through a giant mangrove forest with beautifully turquoise water. They are like spirits, and I think they are playing with me.

flat,550x550,075,f

Leave a Reply

