How Appropriate

I had a dream about Halloween! I swear I’m not as absolutely shallow as my dreams seem to sketch me as of late.

Photo_012110_009

It is a frosty, black evening, a big white moon cuddles spooky purple clouds, the witching hour is at hand! Shivering dramatically, I walk slowly, poetically, past darkened eves, clinging a thin, static plastic bag. With no moors to look out across wistfully, I revel in the gloom of trick-or-treating quietly. It’s just me, and mostly I just want to be alone. I have no costume, and my knees actually knock from the cold like clogs against grandfather clocks. I never question the lack of ghouls and fairy’s, or why my usually festive neighborhood seems derelict, I just walk, and eventually, I’m back home, at my mother’s house.

64875-Night_Walk____4,_5__6_004

There is a bowl of untouched sweets on the porch, attached to a bit of a “help yourself” mentality that makes me smile. I pick up the bowl and it seems to grow huge in my hands as I upend it into my own bag, taking everything for myself, and walking inside. As I sat on the couch in the dark, my mother came downstairs worried that I was back so soon. Surely I could have stayed out later and acquired more candy, but I hug her, saying candy was not my purpose for going out. We whispered more about candy, waking my younger brother Ross.

halloween-candy-bag

He came downstairs concerned that if we left the bowl unsupervised kids might just take all the candy and run. I hugged him and erased his troubles, saying I had done just that, and there was nobody out tonight anyhow. We all went upstairs and I tucked them in, first Ross, then my mother. My room was far too hot to sleep in, so I came down the stairs once more and snuggled up on the sofa.

reg_1024.JessicaBiel.jlc.10112

Leave a Reply

