Having Nun of It

For one of my courses, we were required to sign up for charity work at a local business as an out of class project. Unfortunately I was the last person to sign up, and my professor sent me to work at a nunnery. She informed me that it was also in part a stray dog kennel, and the animal lover inside of me prepared for fun, if smelly work.

child-dog-2

It was the middle of winter so arriving in the wee hours of the morning, (around 6 AM) was a dark task. I wandered up to an offensively cream building that looked more like a windowless cinder block than anything, through a terribly small door that appeared to be green, though it was hard to tell as it reflected the dull orange of a security lamp just a few feet away.

Street lamp

An austere matron guided me down into the damp recesses of the basement, there was barely any light, yet I could almost feel the rotten, dilapidated condition of the animal’s living space on my skin. It was fantastically wretched, dogs of every fashion were stretched out limply anywhere they could find that wasn’t wet or covered in a film of ice, and I hunkered down cross-legged among them, at a loss for what I was supposed to achieve, if anything could be done.

puppy_10_t607

I wanted more than anything to reveal the sisters for their abominable cruelty, to save as many of the poor beasts as I could, but of course nobody actually believed me, after all, this was a nunnery.

nun

They caught me attempting to get a story out to the local paper, and locked me down in the kennels overnight. Everything was screaming, human screams, and I felt horrible just to bear witness, it was too dark to see anything, so I felt around for anything to keep me warm. They came down to release me, and I realized in the light that I had covered myself in carcasses. I continued to dig myself out, but they seemed to be endless, bodies upon bodies, I never got away.

hand_reach_by_kasun95-d4yr5ef

One thought on “Having Nun of It

Leave a Reply

