Unscripted!

Rarely do I sit down at my computer, with a wonderfully cliché cup of coffee and mysteriously demure yet perfectly fitted Chanel turtle neck in, “coal” to do some honest blogging. I fabricate and illuminate my dreams, or I type out and reveal my still imperfect works in order to test them on a diverse audience to glean clever feedback, but I never approach the idea of my blog as I am today, without a clear picture as to what it is I should write. Bright eyed and bushy-tailed I am rather excited to be totally unscripted!

grumpy-girl-holding-crumpled-paper-balls-thumb17074103

Ok, but seriously now, I have written about seven paragraphs and deleted them each in turn, this is far more difficult than I thought! As I am but a mewling youth when it comes to this aspect of the blogosphere, I would hope that I would not be judged too harshly to write on the topic most expect to see on a day like this one. New Year’s resolutions after all, are the current ado.

I absolutely adore the concept of New Year’s resolutions. It’s a time when you and yours get together and think about all of the ambitions you have for the year to come, whether or not any of your ideas make it to fruition, you spend a few hours in this wonderful moment of your life, truly dreaming, and expanding your mind for the sake of self-improvement.

For some, the goals attach themselves to those from last year, to continue on in that quest to lose twenty more pounds, another link in an impressive chain of dedication. Others prefer to list out random ideas for fun, or self-improvement that will add a completely new facet to their new year, to summit a peak, to learn to watercolor, to do something they have never done before. Still others have jump-started before the year is out and are already on their way to conquering those impatient hopes, running ten miles every week since they bought that new pair of electric green Brooks in November.

run_2176041c

I on another hand, usually spend the evening buzzing about the party with absolutely no original content, listening to others, stealing ideas, or coming up with witty or ridiculous things to say over the binipinaries when it comes time to share. This year I do have a few goals however, they are more milestones really as they are fairly set in stone, but for the first time, I will celebrate a new years with some actual resolutions.

kimchi-3

  1. Learn Korean (with help from the Rosetta Stone)
  2. Practice my Korean at the Korean Grocers
  3. Become TESOL certified to Teach English to Speakers of Other Languages
  4. Achieve my degree
  5. Use my new cookbooks and learn how to feed myself in Korea (force myself to develop a liking for kimchi)
  6. After slimming down, this year is all about toning up
  7. Enroll in voice lessons again, get back into vocal shape and send in my audition tape to Anuna
  8. Learn the word for “shrimp” in Korean, learn it well, if I learn no other word, I will learn this one
  9. Dress well, accumulate quality clothes over quantity (Katy can help me, she is aces at it!)
  10. Get myself onto a plane to Seoul

In general, the plan is to be there or square and ready to teach by the end of 2013, but I do have a few ridiculous goals in mind to share at a cocktail gathering this evening:

Loretta_young

  • Fall in love, break my heart, feel rapture, betrayal, longing, pining, etc. In general, channel Shakespeare’s “love is a smoke made with the fume of sighs,” and my good fellow Whitman’s, “we were together, I have forgotten the rest.”
  • Practice looking off into the distance with a touch of secret melancholy. (This goes together with the aforementioned)
  • Yes I am a girl, and yes I too love Pride and Prejudice, so obviously I want to find my Mr. Darcy
  • Turn on, tune in, drop out
  • Develop an affinity for collecting taxidermy animals, (stole that one from Amanda Seyfried)
  • Meet Jang Geun Suk
  • Marry Jang Geun Suk
  • Develop my own musical taste that doesn’t piggy back off of everyone else I know
  • Understand that if I want to like Justin Bieber’s song, “Baby” that is ok
  • Decide what religion I am
  • “Re-examine all you have been told… Dismiss what insults your soul.” – Walt Whitman

I’m quite giddy to begin again, yet continue on this year with my wonderful life, full of all the people I like, bereft of those I care not for, and residing with my soul exactly where and when I wish to be. Happy New Years!

7 thoughts on “Unscripted!

  1. I’m so glad to have you in my LinkedIn feed, otherwise I’d miss gems like this.

    Writing “unscripted” suits you just as it did comedian, Jeff Dunham, when he lost track of where he was in his routine while performing at the Mt Baker. Befuddled but certain the audience would “get to hear every bit of the routine they paid good money for,” he ad libbed his way backwards through his routine until he found his jump off point. Frankly, those ten minutes were the best of the show. Unencumbered by a script he’d learned backwards and forwards by rote and had performed dozens of times before, he was allowed to have fun, to play and be himself. It was wonderfully entertaining and demonstrated his brilliance far better than anything during his routine.

    I also, found your “off the cuff” post just as delightful. I assume you could write about misery and pain and I would find it just as entertaining as a great rhythm and blues songs of similar genre. Your styling is simple (unencumbered by antiquated and boorish 7-syllable words) and modern yet wanting to come out in iambic pentameter. Shakespeare much?

    Korea’s gain is our loss, but only if you quit blogging in English.

    Happy New Year!

    Joe

  2. Joe, Thank you so much for your feedback! I am glad my attempts were successful in part in being entertaining. I am hoping to do more of this personal life sort of writing with my blog this year alongside my usual dream blogging, so it’s great to hear that people are enjoying reading this sort of posting. Thanks again!

  3. Hot diggity, Fela! I love your quasi(since you had 7redos.lol) unplugged self. It makes it that much more special because its not your usual dreamy material. I don’t think I’ve ever seen you this excited, hopeful, & energetic for as long as I’ve followed you. Very interesting looking resolution, sounds like there is something ‘cookin’ in seoul Korea 🙂
    How about your engineer roommate as a love prospect? he seems to be a logical/responsible young man.

    • Chris! You dissappeared for a bit there, good to see you back in the swing. I’m so excited to get to Korea and on with my life, I really am pretty driven for the first time in a long time and feel like I’ve finally found my niche. 🙂

      • You were my 2nd ever follower, you didn’t think I would just bail? lol
        So when did this Korea thing happen? most people usually want to go to California or NY. You might need to practice your gangnam style before heading out there 🙂

      • Well, I’m graduating with a minor in TESOL which is teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages and I figures Korea would be a fun place to travel first! I’m still getting used to the food, I hate kimchi, but I am really intrigued with the culture as well 🙂

  4. Pingback: Blogger recognition – all rolled up « Chris9911's Blog

Leave a Reply

