Tip of the Hat: Shakespeare

 

Alrighty, so this is my first ever solid attempt at writing a sonnet. It began in the rhyme scheme, then kind of unraveled out towards something closer to blank verse, which is essentially a non-rhyming sonnet, but still retains the essentials of Iambic pentameter. My topic of choice was, of course, dreaming.

The blackness of the day is shrouded still
by midnights cloak it deadens and delights
the senses as it pulls me through the bed
and onto wings of dreaming into flight
no longer does the solid world stretch
it’s arms of staunch confinement round my being
I’m free in sweet vast nothing to commence
what wonder is this wild world dream
a panorama for my sleeping wit
to glean it’s muse a brilliant fractal plain
to paint invisible artwork upon
a canvass of gray matter ‘cross my brain

On were we go when most we wink I find
I have insane adventures in my mind.

3 thoughts on “Tip of the Hat: Shakespeare

  1. Thank you so much! It’s great to have some feedback whenever you’re creating something new, and I am really excited to play around with sonnets and blank verse in the future!

Leave a Reply

