Foiled

I am locked outside in the snow, in serious danger of freezing to death. As I move about I make a tinkling metallic sound and my skin scratches against the snow like it’s made of foil.

I crawl towards a large briar patch that my mother is trying to tame. She furiously hacks at the stubborn mass with giant pruning shears. Suddenly, she cuts the main vine. A loud snapping followed by the sound of a cord retracting quickly made my mother stop dead.

She looked at me almost pleadingly, when all of a sudden she was yanked into the air by an unseen noose. My body screams into action to cut her down, but I am completely frozen solid and I just sit there in horror, unable to do anything but watch.

One thought on “Foiled

Leave a Reply

